There are two types of people—those who’ve cracked the code for productive work-from-home days and those who fare better in an office-type environment to stay focused. After three years of running her business out of her home, wellness entrepreneur Om & The City’s Jules Acree is solidly in the former—thanks to a few workspace essentials and a mastery of minimalism. Read on, and take notes! My hours are pretty consistent, from 9 to 6, but I do have flexibility to pop out and take a midday yoga class since I don’t have to ask for permission (perks!). I opted for a longer desk to give me more space to spread out, but I’m really intentional about keeping it clean and clutter-free. The only things you’ll find on my desk are my laptop that’s plugged into a monitor, my webcam for video and conference calling, and my Sonos speaker. The minimal desk area helps me stay focused and reduce any feelings of overwhelm and anxiety that might come up during my workday. I decided to add a lamp to my office, using the Brilli Charge Up Light Bulb, because it helps me power through my workday, especially on cloudy days. I have big windows with a lot of natural light, but when it’s dark and gloomy, my Brilli light mimics the same wavelengths found in crisp daytime sunlight! Having good, healthy lighting in my office gives me a natural energy boost to finish off my day strong. I set up a super-comfy couch where my assistant and other members of my team can come work. I wanted my office to feel like a place where we can congregate to brainstorm or take a break to chat or read a book. I’m all about multifunctional items, so I’ve repurposed furniture that was on our deck to make it work in the room, and I bought a side table that is actually the perfect height to double as a laptop stand. The whole room is decorated with storage and organization in mind, which is clutch for me in creating a more open and minimal space. I ended up getting a simple dresser from IKEA to store my tech and photography equipment and annoying cords, and then added custom handles to give it a more unique and elevated feel. I’m not a fashion blogger, but I often work with some conscious clothing brands. So I also keep a clothing rack in the office to keep track of shoots (plus, it lets me store more plants!). My definition of productivity has changed big time over the years, but it’s gotten me to where I am today. I spent over six years hustling my butt off in NYC, and now I’m writing this while sitting in my home office in Austin, Texas. Moving to Austin was a form of self-care for me, and it was my way of taking control of my situation to channel a way of living and working that is more sustainable. I think one of the biggest take-aways I’ve had is to remain fluid, recognize when things aren’t working anymore, and give yourself the space to adjust. I can’t concentrate with chaos and mess surrounding me, so I also make sure I reset my space before I dive into my workday. Then, I avoid multitasking and give each task, each person, each idea my full attention. Toward the end of the day, I’m grateful for Brilli’s dimmable Wind Down Light Bulb, which has the appropriate light spectrum to help my body and mind start relaxing (it’s less stimulating than other kinds of lighting and minimizes blue light that disrupts melatonin production). It’s a healthy cue to have in my office, and we’ve also installed Brilli’s Get In Sync Downlights around the house to support our circadian rhythms during our mornings and evenings hanging out at home.

How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 8How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 7How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 57How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 56How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 3How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 40How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 45How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 25How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 9How Minimalist Leaning Jules Hunt Keeps Her WFH Space Functional   Focused - 45