My pain over the next year was indescribable. That said, it helped me gain the perspective that can only come from a crisis. Here are five things I learned from the trenches: I have been filled with worry like this along my journey, and it’s been such a confidence killer. Over time, you can worry yourself into absolute utter sickness and stress, and push people away as a result. We all know this and yet we worry anyway. Stop! Life is short. Catch yourself when you start to worry about what will happen “one day” and instead focus on the joy of the hour, the minute, the day. When worry rears its ugly head, repeat a positive affirmation, mantra, or quote that resonates until that worry goes away. If you have to repeat that affirmation 20 times a day, do what you need to do to not give in to worry. Be who you truly are and feel what you feel. The key is to be authentic and that’s good enough. The people who love you won’t mind and the people who do don’t matter. Surround yourself with people who are going to lift you up and love you as you are today. Being true to yourself even through a trying time is so incredibly empowering.

5 Lessons From The Worst Year of My Life - 285 Lessons From The Worst Year of My Life - 575 Lessons From The Worst Year of My Life - 47